The Book of Your Life

Cannonball

Another good week has been written to the books of history – and what a small entry it was.

This week my seven-year-old and I made up a list of all the things we’ve done this summer and all the things we still want to do. What a list. My daughters stayed with grandma and grandpa while my wife and I went to Alaska. We’ve also been to lakes to Michigan and Indiana where they tubed and paddle boarded.

The kids have been to two zoos, one amusement park, a trampoline place (palace if you ask them), and we’ve eaten lots of ice-cream. Together we’ve built climbing walls, bubble wands, and giant dice. We’ve read books, watched movies, and played games.


I’ve started the book, The End of Your Life Bookclub and one character points out that the more she reads, the more she realizes what she doesn’t know. That’s been true for my reading as well. When I finished reading about sunken U-Boats, I realized how little I knew about World War 2. When I finished Elon Musk, I realized how little I knew about technology and the current pace of work.

Each book I read makes me realize how little I know about it. If I finish a good one I hop on to Amazon to see what related books might be good too. My guess is that this is the same feeling drug addicts have when they want a little bit more.

While I like this when I read,  I’m trying to avoid it within my own life. In each moment I get at a lake, eating ice-cream, or in the car – I’m trying to remember it in full color. I want to be able to think back to the summers we spent together as a family and know that I’m getting a full picture, rather than snippet of what a book about it would show. It’s fine that I don’t know everything related to what I read, but I don’t want to feel that way about my own life.

Weekly review #37.

This week I read Ray Dalio’s Principles and took notes on it. It’s free and is a great piece on how one successful person makes decisions. I also started reading The End of Your Life Bookclub and a few other things. I’ll be traveling next week and will settle into one of the books.

I published Ancient Productivity Advice That’s Relevant Today about what I learned from Seneca about getting things done. The importance of solving your biggest problem first was inspired by the book Elon Musk. I also wrote up notes from the Tom Rath and Jim Kwik interviews with James Altucher. Finally, I drafted Ramit Sethi’s guide to starting a business, culled from the Smart Passive Income Podcast.

Leave a Reply

