Coming back from Alaska (Weekly Review #30)

For ten days over the last two weeks, I’ve been on an Alaskan cruise with my wife (and no kids!). Hence the lack of blog posts here. But as all good things come to an end, so did our cruise. But this also means I get to see my kiddos again, do the routines I enjoy, and see the people I love.Another post on the full scope of the cruise will be coming, but in this weekly review I wanted to share one big idea – people.

Another post on the full scope of the cruise will be coming, but in this weekly review I wanted to share one big idea – people.During our

During our cruise, we sat with six other people (all couples) and had a great time. There was a farmer from Oklahoma, a travel agent from California, and a retiree from the west coast. Even though we were all different (age, geography, political alignment) we felt so similar. We ate at our table, talked about our days, and shared our stories.This connection to strangers was welcoming because it reaffirmed my belief that people are generally good. Most people are people we can connect with. Most people are more similar than not. Most people are just like you. (And me)

This connection to strangers was welcoming because it reaffirmed my belief that people are generally good. Most people are people we can connect with. Most people are more similar than not. Most people are just like you. (And me)
Except, when people are waiting in lines.Have someone wait in a line and it’ll bring out their worst side. People want to rush to get their turn, their time, their thing.

Have someone wait in a line and it’ll bring out their worst side. People want to rush to get their turn, their time, their thing.
One instance was when we had to get off our plane in Fairbanks because of a mechanical problem. Even though the captain, flight attendants, and gate agents assured everyone they would rebook them if it came to that, people still waited in lines.I waited too, and wow were there awful things said. People were so selfish. It was

I waited too, and wow were there awful things said. People were so selfish. It was as-if everyone there was unfamiliar with the idea of airline delays and expected things to operate more like a TV schedule.The dichotomy was interesting and hopefully I’ll remember this the next time I’m in line. Small talk, a smile, and question about someone’s day will go a long way to making it a better experience.

The dichotomy was interesting and hopefully I’ll remember this the next time I’m in line. Small talk, a smile, and question about someone’s day will go a long way to making it a better experience.

What I’ve been reading.

If you want to read more, go on a cruise, no internet means fewer options. Some books I’ve recently enjoyed include Bill Bryson’s I’m a Stranger Here Myself, Joran Ellenberg’s How Not To Be Wrong, and Sudhir Venkatesh’s Gang Leader for a Day.
– Bryson is so funny and this book is evidence to that. Plus he uses big words I’d like to familiarize myself with like; supine, ferrule, and skinflints.
– Ellenberg was smart and funny. Like Malcolm Gladwell and Nassim Taleb conjoined to teach an introductory statistics course.
– Venkatesh was smart too, but in a different way. His book made me think about poverty (and along with Ellenberg), in a new way.

What I’ve been writing.

Being gone for two weeks I may miss something, but here’s the list. What Rick Ross knows about organizational management.
My productivity experiment.
Planning a productive summer.
Today predicts your future

For the curious
supine -lying face upward.
ferrule – a ring that strengthens a handle or tube that keeps it from splitting.
skinflints – a person who spends as little money as possible, a miser.

Leave a Reply

