Book writing video diary. Week 2

Only a few days late, and closer to being the Week 3 update, but here it is, a few thoughts from my time working on my current book. If you don’t watch to watch, the highlights are below

  • The book will be based on a blog I write, The Waiter’s Pad and the things I’ve learned listening to James Altucher’s podcast guests. After listening to the podcast, a trinity of ideas that led to success emerged. In the widest possible definition, success followed three things: skill, persistence, and luck.
  • In thinking about this I realized how much research will be involved. Each blog post takes 3-5 hours for me to write and there are nearly 100 episodes, with more coming. At some point I’ll need to draw the line. Head over to there today to see the A.J. Jacobs write-up.
  • I also conducted a pre-mortem, an idea Daniel Kahneman writes about in Thinking Fast and Slow. The concept is to imagine it’s one year in the future and you ask why a project failed. I came up with three reasons. (1) If you listen to the James Altucher podcast, you’ve already heard these stories. (2) I don’t write it well. I need to balance logic and rhetoric to tell a good story. (3) The concepts aren’t new. That you need to build a skill, persist, and get lucky to find success isn’t groundbreaking knowledge. How I’ll deal with these things I don’t know yet, but coming up with the questions is the first step to finding the solutions.
  • I read How to Invest Your Time Like Money and there were some good lessons from that, mostly that when it’s time to write – it’s time to write. No fooling around with Twitter, kids, dogs, food, etc. As Stephen King, says, shut the door. Or even remove the doorknob as Faulkner did. * The word count is 3800 words.

The upcoming plan is to begin writing the skills section, fill out the introduction section, and to consider when I stop doing research.

If you liked this video, do let me know if you want to see this go longer, shorter, or if the video isn’t worth the time. @mikedariano. Thanks also to Justin Jackson for the great idea, though he shouldn’t be held responsible for the quality of its implementation.

Leave a Reply

