Weekly Review 14: I made a product!

Not where I’ve been working from.

These weekly updates sneak up on me and catch me off guard. I’m writing this around noon on Saturday when I planned to write it sometime thursday. Good reasons for the delay.

What I’ve been reading.

I’m back into Thinking Fast and Slow and posted about it during the week. The crux of my post wasn’t about any one topic in the book, but the book’s overall educational value. Kahneman is so clearly very smart (he won a Nobel Prize) and yet his book is so accessible, it makes me wonder what the future of education is. Will teachers be facilitators who rely on key lecturers to provide the core content and build on that?

Thunderstruck continues to be good. It’s amazing how similar some things are. Even when they were trying to figure out how to send signals via radio waves the media and technology companies behaves similar to how they act now.

In shorter form, this article on Farnam Street was the only good thing I read this week. It’s about remembering that if we don’t mess up the big things we can succeed. In the health domains if you avoid smoking and being overweight a lot of the big stuff falls away. You don’t have to run marathons to be healthy, and that’s what that post is about.

What I published this week.

On my own blog I shared sales figures from 1 month of Kindle sales, how to make chocolate banana pudding, and the aforementioned post about the incredible accessibility of great teachers. I reviewed all three of the Gary Vaynerchuk books at Productivityist. At The Waiter’s Pad I wrote summaries of the James Altucher interviews with Brad Feld, Jack Canfield, and Stephen Dubner. Writing those posts continues to be one of the most educational activities I do on a regular basis. It’s an example of the Feynman technique and one I’m going to explore a bit more.

I also created my first product, 21 days to a better idea muscle. Creating an idea list has been a great habit, but not one I’ve stuck with for a long time. This download is for people, who like me, struggled to build the habit because they didn’t have enough “hooks.” They don’t know enough about building habits, the psychology of idea creation, the value of repetition, the freedom of “shitty first drafts.” And more.

It’s a pay-what-you-want download if you’re interested.

Mike, @mikedariano

Leave a Reply

