Where I’ve Been Writing This Week

This blog’s been quiet as a mouse lately which is the opposite of my house. Last night my daughters declared that they were going to “stay up until midnight” while they slept in the basement. Did they make it? I don’t know, I lasted until 10:30.

Another wonderfully busy week of writing for me and one where I’m seeing what people talk about when they say they are passionate about something. If I have free time all I want to do is write or read so I can write or take notes so I can write or listen to podcasts so I can write. All those things also mean that there are a lot of inputs for writing, you can’t have cookies without the ingredients but in writing there’s an immediate loss.

For instance, right now I’m rereading Average is Over by Tyler Cowen. I’ve read this book already but as I was citing it recently at The Waiter’s Pad I didn’t have a great grasp on one of the ideas from the book. So I decided to reread it. There is a lot of reinforcement of concepts I understand, but not a lot of new thinking for new idea. Ditto for podcasts, which I enjoy listening to, but don’t have an immediate payback.

Here’s what I published this week.

  • A book review of Smartcuts by Shane Snow. If you’re looking for inspiration about a new way of thinking, or thinking about how to better navigate your career this would be a good book for you.
  • Deliberate practice and the Super Bowl. Another post at Productivityist and one where I apply Cal Newport’s deliberate practice philosophy to the brutish game of football.
  • At The Waiter’s Pad I published posts about interviews with Maria Popova, Ramit Sethi, Lewis Howes, and Gary Vaynerchuk.  I’m quite pleased with how each turned out, but know that something is missing from that site. I modeled it after Maria’s site Brain Pickings and Farnam Street but they aren’t quite there yet. I would love any feedback on the site to help me figure out what’s missing.
  • Six Reasons Mornings Work for Work was my most popular story on Medium, though the stats are a bit funny. 415 people clicked on the link, but only 235 read it. It’s a three minute article, but half of all people who arrived at it didn’t read it? There’s something funny to that.

As always, if you have something to recommend about reading about, listening to, or talking with please let me know.

Mike

Leave a Reply

