Weekly review 10: Cold days, finished project.

My book, My Meditations is done, online, and free (through tonight). It was one heck of a learning opportunity and one I’ll certainly share more about.

It was also interesting to see how much time and work it took, because in this last week I’ve been very productive. I’ve written book reviews, other articles, and cleared out my inbox all because the book is done. Even my reading has gone up some.

What I’ve been reading.

Despite an incredibly generous holiday I was a bit stumped on what to read next.

I started Making of the Atomic Bomb but it’s thick and doesn’t match my mood. Instead I’ve enjoyed the very good, The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer.

This article from Barbara Oakley about learning was very good (as most of her stuff is). The great Steven Pressfield wrote about another writing analogy, the clothesline method. My friend Justin shared a post full of energy about creating a company that I loved the will behind. If you have kid under 11 you have to read this article, Parenting as a Gen Xer. I liked this one about a minimalist wardrobe. About helicopter parenting, this article about kids, the Holocaust and play (do need to get the book it mentioned.)

What I’ve been listening to.

How Stuff Works had a good episode about online gambling. (Not much here this week, it’s been too cold for dog walks and I’ve found that if I make the print big enough, I can read my iPad on the treadmill.)

What I’ve been working on.

My stoic book is done. One of the things I’m most proud of is how timeless it is. I’m happy to say my father could have read it 20 years ago and my future son-in-law (had better read it) in 20 years yet nothing would change.
This will also make promoting and sharing it easy. If you want to talk about it, let’s get in touch.

Which brings up something else I realized; if I’m going to be a writer I need to write elsewhere. I’m very happy with with what I’ve done here, but I need to write other places too. Like a cook who can step into any kitchen, I need to sharpen my skills.

Stay warm out there (and have some soup). @mikedariano

Leave a Reply

