Newsletter #2

My second newsletter went out this morning. You can check out the archives and then subscribe. It has three main sections, Other People’s Writings, About Writing, and My Writings. If I absolutely had to give it a theme it would probably be “Writing.” Here’s a few highlights:

  • The NYT wrote an article about Apple University. After the Jobs bio, the outsider’s Pixar story, and the internal one (which I’ve not yet read) I’ve become fascinated with these companies. So much to learn, but I may have to be an Apple employee to really see the history.
  • There are a lot of ways we subconsciously balance our choices, one study on food highlights that portion. One of the books on my desk also writes about what paths we choose as our defaults.
  • NPR shared a great article on thinking like a chef. I’ve got a post coming next week about this thinking when you get ready for school.

I read some encouraging words about becoming a writer and sharing what I think. A lot of times it feels like something I’ve written is quite obvious, when really it’s not to the people reading.

There was also this quote from Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird, “There is no cosmic importance to getting published, but there is in learning to be a giver.” Something to remember not just in writing, but in all the things we do.

I’ve also share what this week of work looked like and what’s on my desk. Again, you can subscribe at TinyLetter.com/MikeDariano.

Leave a Reply

