I lost NaNoWriMo

This November I participated in NAtional NOvel WRiting MOnth or NaNoWriMo.  The goal is to write a 50,000 word story in thirty days.  I did not.  I ended my month with 38,777 words done,  a rate of 1292 per day.  I also blogged almost 10,000 words this month.  Here is a chart of my writing, oddly enough, the only day I didn’t write was the 29th.  I woke up later than usual that day and didn’t write in the morning like I usually do, and the rest of the day was filled with great times with family.

Even though I didn’t finish a novel, I’m most of the way there.  My character has faced a few trials along the way and has a final one to overcome before the resolution.  I’ve posted two other sets of thoughts on NaNoWriMo here and here.  My final few thoughts are these;

  • Little steps are important.  If I added a few more 250 word writing sessions, which may have taken only ten minutes to complete, I would have been a lot closer and maybe made a bigger push at the end of the month.  I’ve seen this more and more lately. If I spend just a few minutes asking people to be guests at 27GoodThings.com then I scramble less when I need someone.
  • Sometimes the writing was a lot easier than other times.  I don’t know why.  It was like turning on a faucet in my house compared to drawing from a well with a bucket.
  • As I said in another post, the arbitrary month and writing goals did help me write more in many different areas.  I wonder if this will translate to other areas of my life like career, parenting, marriage.

The ultimate questions to ask is, will I do it again? Yes.  I want to be able to finish the month and this first run illuminated what I need to do.  My blogging needs to be scaled back or my focus on novel writing needs to be more important.  Like a good story, I lost this round, but after a year of training, I’ll be back for a rematch.

 

Leave a Reply

