The Happiness Project (quotes)


I’m re-reading Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project as part inspiration and part research for a major project that is going to fill next year.  As I read through it again on my Kindle, I thought I would share some of the highlights that had the most effect on me.  These may not be the best pieces of advice in the book or the most poetic but they are something to note.

The atmosphere of my marriage set the weather for my whole life.

Quoting Pierre Reverdy, and a favorite of mine from the book.

“There is no love; there are only proofs of love.”  Whatever love I might feel in my heart, others will see only my actions.

On living in NYC.

Fun abounded in New York City, if only I had the largeness of spirit to tap into it.

The book has other good quotes, some of which I’ve shared here before.  The final one struck home with me this week with my daughters.  At our house it might go, “Fun abounds at our house, manifested as a three and five year old, if only I had the largeness of spirit to dance with it. “

Leave a Reply

