Emailing Evernote Notes

In my immediate circle of colleagues, friends, and family, I’m the only heavy user of Evernote. Not even my wife, who I run technical services for, uses it. For other platforms this would be a problem. To see Facebook posts or pictures you need to be on Facebook. To have a Twitter conversation it helps to be on Twitter. To Pin things on Pinterest you need to be on Pinterest. To use Evernote you only need email.

I always share notes through email.  Notes like details for daughters’ school.  I can use Evernote to keep an updated note on something, changing it from different devices and then send it over to someone.

20131028-070335.jpgWe also used emailing notes on our trip to Disney. Disney is rolling out Wi-Fi in their parks but the service is still splotchy. One option would have been to create an itinerary in Evernote and then load and read it from the Evernote app while we were in the parks.*  The other option was to create a note in Evernote and then email that note to my wife and me.  This worked out much better because pulling up the emailed note on my phone was a lot faster than loading Evernote in the parks.

Another benefit to this was that we were on the same page for where we would be.  Most mornings my wife had conference meetings and didn’t know when she would be done.  These notes gave her an idea of when our FastPass+ reservations were, what park we would be in, and what area of the park she might want to head first.  She could call of course but my cell phone service was no better ‘down where it’s wetter, under the sea.’

I’ll also email notes to myself for things I want to have handy when at work. Sometimes I travel to rural schools with splotchy service for my iPhone.  In these cases it’s nice to have the note information already downloaded from my email account.  Sometimes I’ll send my wife our grocery list and ask her what she would like to add.  Sometimes I’ll even add it.

Evernote’s app – even on my iOS 6 phone – is great but sometimes the convenience of a static email is better.

*Part of the problem with this was that I also have a number of IFTTT.com recipes firing so I was loading sometimes a dozen new notes each time my account synced.

Leave a Reply

