Writing and Editing Summary

Untitled

I finally finished editing the first draft, it took five hours in about eight different pieces.  It was rough. I couldn’t believe how many times I misspelled a certain word or wrote ‘two’ instead of ‘too’.  I’ve been adding words to my list of Google Docs ‘Always correct to’ faster than a ten-year-old going through a Christmas catalog.

The actual writing process in Google Docs has gone well.  I’ve found that the service is much faster if I switch my wifi off and this brings the added bonus of not looking up words or ideas.  I don’t get distracted via Twitter while writing – but do so immediately before and after – but will click through dozens of Wikipedia pages.  Doc’s spell check seems to work a bit different offline but for editing and making changes I’ve left the wifi on.

Following Jamie Rubin’s advice I’ve been limiting my documents to about ten-thousand words each and the speed of accessing different parts is acceptable.  I don’t have anything to compare this to so I can’t really say if this is above or below some average.

In commenting on my work I’ve found that bolding ideas works much better than inserting comments.  These bold ideas stand out just as well and let me keep anything I that write.  They also require a bit less managing, it’s easier to delete or remove the formatting rather than approve or delete a comment.   I’m also using the ??? string to indicate an area of writing I’m not sure about.  After writing then I can search for ??? using CTRL-F and move through the document rather quickly.

So far I’ve adapted to using the Google Drive setup for writing this book and it’s come along nicely except when I printed my first copy it inserted blank pages between the text ones.  I don’t know if this error was the fault of my printer, my document settings, or Google.  I’m also unsure about the formatting will work once I upload this to CreateSpace and work through formatting it for the Kindle and possibly a paperback.

My current plan is to print off a copy for my wife to make sure I’ve explained my stupid things humorously and not stupidly.  If any of you would like a copy please let me know, I’d be thrilled to get more comments.

For the remainder of September I’m going to write new essays that came up during this editing and not include anything written after this month.  I’m also going to look at the cover requirements and sketch out something.   After that, the first two weeks of October are packed with a trip and school stuff. I’m going to write some fiction during this time but not touch this fatherhood book.

From October 15th until the end of the month I’m going to focus mainly on getting this book polished up, formatted, and published.

 If you’d like to read more about the process for writing this book, here’s my diary or see more excerpts.

Leave a Reply

