The Fatherhood Book (writing summary)

Fatherhood book, draft 1

It feels like a good selection of stories.  Some of them make me laugh and my wife said “they are amusing.” I assume this is good because she’s lived them and when you live stories they’re mostly amusing, especially as a parent.

It’s very rare that in the moment of something happening as a parent you find it entertaining.  Instead it’s terrifying or aggravating, or infuriating.  Spilled milk and monkey sounds don’t bring out the best in us immediately, but, eventually they do and we can laugh about them.  That’s been a bit how this book has come together.  I’m trying to think of the things that brought out a chunk of any emotion and reflect on it.  How did I feel then and how should I feel now?  It’s like I’ve been climbing and have reached an objective plateau where I can survey my path and reflect on the true beauty and challenge of it.

The actual writing of the book has also plateaued.  I’ve not added more than a few hundred words in the past week.   It’s never enjoyable to listen to people wax on about how busy they are so I’ll just say that the past ten days have featured other priorities.  My solution to re-prioritize the proofreading of this book is to print a physical copy out and go through it by hand.  That’s going to mean a lot of handwritten notes when digital comments would be much more efficient but it’s better to edit some physical notes than no digital ones.

I’ve shared some book excerpts and the running journal from the start of August is here.

I’ve done some writing on other projects and some editing on this one.  Thanks to Jamie Rubin for letting this data flow automatically.

chart_3

2 thoughts on “The Fatherhood Book (writing summary)

  1. Mike, one thing I do to avoid the negative numbers is to include a “deleted scenes” section at the end of each of my Google documents. If I decide I didn’t like something I wrote the previous day, or want to rewrite it, I copy the old text into the “deleted scenes” section and then do my rewrite in the main text. So if I removed 500 words today and rewrote it better as 400 words, I don’t see a -100 words count for the day, I see 400 words, because my 500 words from yesterday were moved to the deleted scenes. I do this because I am interested in what I cut, but also I want to know how much I really wrote each day, even it it is rewriting.

  2. Very nice, will add that to the process. Thanks again for the scripts, they’re a great accountability feature and each morning my word count sheet (and now graph) is the first tab I open.

Leave a Reply

