What ideas are you buying?

20130326-163853.jpgAre you familiar with this? This is fruit leather. It usually comes in a rectangular shape, a few millimeters thick and it tastes like fruit. It’s made from some blend of pureed, cooked, cooled, thinned, mixed fruits. It tastes almost like a Fruit Roll Up, is probably healthier for you, but it’s symbolic for a lot more than that.

Fruit leather is something that appears healthy but doesn’t even register on the healthiness scale when you talk about eating apples, grapes, and pears.  Watermelon and bananas would crush fruit leather in a no-hold-barred fruit battle. So why then do people buy it?

When people buy fruit leather they think they are eating healthy. But they aren’t and it’s not about fruit leather or health. It’s about buying an idea – I know, I bought it! But I’m going to stop buying it and stop buying the ideas. Fruit leather isn’t healthy, bananas are. New Ikea couches won’t make me feel better, spending time with people on the couch will.

I’m going to stop buying ideas that say I need things, that say I need to read certain books, or act a certain way. I’m going to stop buying the idea that the world sucks. I’m going to stop buying the idea that fast foods are good foods. I’m going to stop buying the idea that blogs don’t have high quality content. I’m going to stop buying the idea that everyone is always right. I’m going to stop buying the idea that outsourcing is bad. I’m going to stop buying the idea that kids can’t do things. I’m going to stop buying the idea more is better.

What ideas are you buying?

 

Leave a Reply

