How to use Evernote: Managing Your Bills

I hate delaying things, and especially paying bills. I don’t take my shoes off before walking around the house if I’m bringing a bill in from the mailbox.  Nearly all of our bills and payments are now done online and here’s how we manage them.

First I’ve created a notebook in Evernote labeled Bills.  Anytime I pay money for something it goes into this notebook.  HomeNotebooks

Within Bills I can find everything I’ve paid. For labeling I include the type of bill in the note title and the date it arrived to me in parentheses.  I also take a picture of the bill.  A lot of people online suggest scanning these documents but I’ve found that simple images from my iPhone 4 are clear enough for me to go back and find important details.  The second note – my OPlates registration – is just the confirmation copied from their site.  Evernote really makes it easy to copy those confirmation numbers that are a jumble of letters and numbers.
Evernote Web Bills list

Finally, once I take a picture I’ll include how I paid the bill and when that payment is scheduled to arrive.  I do a lot from my iPhone so usually the note will say “Payment scheduled from iOS to arrive on 1/21”.
Evernote Web payment scheduled

Saving these Bills to Evernote has been a wonderful experience because now the mail gets sorted immediately upon entering the house and we have a lot less paper.

If you like this post check out Evernote Ambassador Jamie Todd Rubin who will rid you of your paper piles.

2 thoughts on “How to use Evernote: Managing Your Bills

  1. I keep a file for “Expected deliveries” since I mail order a lot. Instead of printing out my confirmation, I “save” it with Evernote on my computer (I use Google Chrome) and then I have what I ordered and the confirmation # at my finger tips. I also have another file under that folder and I list my deliveries and returns with check boxes. As things arrive I check them off and if I return an item, I add it to the “Returns” list and then check it off once I hear from the company. Once everything clears my Visa statement, I delete the items. I also discovered Pageonce for keeping track of my bank transactions, credit card transactions, and investments all in one place. Great app.

  2. Pingback: My Best Evernote Posts this Year | Mike Dariano

Leave a Reply

